Lagalag: Cotabato; Stone Fortress of Mindanao

  I never thought that I would be somewhere in a place where crescent moons, mosques were venerated, where women are covered with colorful fabrics. I guess, its a welcome remark for me. This is Cotabato City: Stone Fortress of Mindanao.

image

So I touched down at Awang Airport, Cotabato’s national airport. First, its a mixed of doubts and fears, What my life would be in the next three days. Haha! But I guess God would never let me down (ang lakas ko kaya Sa’yo).
I am keenly abiding what my supervisor told me about the place, beware of pick pockets and always on alert wherever I go through the streets in Cotabato. But, did you know that one of our Cardinal is in here? His Eminence, Orlando Cardinal Quevedo is the current Archbishop of Archdiocese of Cotabato. Declares by Pope Francis as Cardinal, the aim is to promulgate peace and better ties with muslim brothers in the said place. And, it is not a surprise to me when I saw a Catholic Church in the midst of Muslim vicinity.
 

image
IMMACULATE CONCEPTION CATHEDRAL: Archdiocese of Cotabato

Nested near at the Central Bank of Cotabato City is the Immaculate Conception Cathedral, Archdiocese of Cotabato.

image
INSIDE THE CATHEDRAL.
image
OUR LADY OF RULE

image

image

It was rainy afternoon when I paid a visit to Cathedral.

image

image

              The Cotabato City Plaza.
When I visited Cotabato, it was generally peaceful. All are in harmony and our Muslim brothers and sisters are good and friendly.

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

