Go Catanduanes: Sentinel of the East

DSC_1600[1]
St. John the Baptist Church: Built in 1830 by Franciscans.

Ever wonder what’s within the Sentinel of the East? For many, this province is the common path of the tropical storm or typhoon, but for many, this province is home for wonderful and picturesque geological and natural scenery, this blog welcomes you to- Catanduanes!

DSC_1598[1]
On top of the hill: The church’s view overlooking the river.

My very first travel to Catanduanes got me in shock and surreal. Getting to this province is not easy especially if you are traversing via Ro-Ro. I embarked on a Ro-Ro for the first time and the experience will make you dizzy. A three hour travel from Tabaco to San Andres is quite long and let me remind you of this, if someone is selling ‘bonamine’ on the ship, buy at least one because the the ocean waves will make you dizzy throughout your journey.

DSC_1610[2]
Post card Perfect! Bato Church in Frame

As I disembarked on the ship, I realized how lucky I am to control myself not into vomit inside the latter. So we docked on San Andres, a town 30 minutes away from Virac. Going to Virac, you need to ride a jeepney (P 25.00).

I alighted at the VTC Jeepney Terminal and went straight to the mall to grab lunch. After that, I checked in to Marem’s Pension House. The pension house is excellent for those who are travelling cheap and their service is quite good. So after I checked-in, I went straight to Bato Church (St. John the Baptist Church). From my place to Bato Church, it will cost you P20.00 via tricycle.

DSC_1604[1]

I haven’t found any historical marker of the church given that it was built many years ago.

I also visited the famous Twin Rock Beach Resort. From Virac to Twin Rock, it will took you 30 minutes and will cost you P15-20.00.

DSC_1621[1]

A P50.00 entrance fee to the beach will give you this stunning scenery.

DSC_1624[1]
One of the twin rock on the left (facing the ocean)

Our next stop, Maribina Falls.

DSC_1629[1]
Maribina Falls during Summer Season

Maribina Falls is the most accessible among other falls in the province. It is 5 meters high with gushing rapids of clear water. An entrance fee of P 15.00 is not bad and you can go up to the top of the falls.

20170513_095648[1]

Last stop, the Seat of the Diocese of Virac, the Immaculate Conception Cathedral. When I visited the cathedral, the front of the church is under construction, I guess the canopy.

20170513_150342[1].jpg

20170513_152212[1].jpg
Inside the Cathedral: The intricate detail of the ceiling.

Another must-see in Catanduanes is the famous rock formation in Brgy. Talisoy.

DSC_2501[1]
The famous Jesus’ face rock formation in Talisoy, Virac, Catanduanes

This rock formation attracts many tourists due to its unique shape, the face of Jesus Christ. If you will look it closely, there were two faces; one on the edge and the other one is on the right.

Entrance fee in Talisoy Beach is P 40. 00. How to get there? From Virac City proper, hail a tricycle and you can make haggle for price. In my case, I paid the driver a P 150. 00 fare back and forth. It will take you from the city to the beach at least 20 minutes.

DSC_2505[1].JPG

DSC_2517[1].JPG
Calm at the sea: Talisoy Beach

For accommodation, I checked-in at ARDCI Corporate Inn. The photos above are taken at the roof deck of the hotel.

For the best restaurant joint in town, try Blossoms Restaurant. Their cakes are cheap and the taste is good!

DSC_2523[1]
Blossoms’ very own Mojos

For more on my food trip in Catanduanes, I will post in in a separate blog. There is so much to do and visit in Catanduanes. Indeed, this place is one for the bucket lists!

Leave a Reply

